Reviews

8.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.1
Comfort
8.2
Property location
8.9
Facilities
7.8
Staff
8.8
Value
7.7

Reviews

    Tomas
    cz

    Review score

    7.1
    17 September 2018

    Good for short term experience of hutong, comfy bed, tasty Chinese breakfast, nice atmosphere.

    High humidity in the room (bits of mold on the wall, bathroom could be cleaner). We've got bitten by insects over the night as we left the window partially open to let some fresh air in.
    Great location, quiet neighbourhood, a rooftop terrace, cosy apartment, comfortable bed, nice look and feel of the whole hotel (hutong). Decent breakfast (recommend to order it the night before, Chinese breakfast was nice).
    CHENG HOCK
    sg

    Review score

    7.9
    9 September 2018

    It’s a eye opener and good experience to stay in Hulu courtyard

    The breakfast could have more variety
    The staffs were very friendly and helpful; gave us pointers to take the sub way and even booked didi for us.
    Tan
    sg

    Review score

    8.3
    1 September 2018

    Great staffs! One of the best services I encountered in Beijing

    Hard to locate the front door, otherwise all else is great!
    Good mannered, friendly staffs who goes out of the way to care for your well being and ensure your stay is well taken care of!
    Ben
    gb

    Review score

    10
    14 August 2018

    Peaceful courtyard hotel very well located

    Nothing!
    Excellent location in an interesting neighbourhood and just a short walk or subway ride to many of the places we wanted to go. Staff were amazing and took care of everything we asked for. Breakfast was lovely and the courtyard and terrace were a nice tranquil space - you’d never know it was only a few metres from a main road. We loved this hotel and would happily stay again.
    Seppo
    au

    Review score

    7.1
    29 July 2018

    Not quite worth the money

    Our room was expensive and for that price I expected more choices at breakfast. The general tone and quality of the hotel did not meet the cost, especially as we have stayed at other courtyard hotels for the same price, but which were of much better quality.
    The staff at reception were extremely friendly and very helpful. They and the location were the 2 big positives of this hotel. The roof top terrace was also lovely.
    ch

    Review score

    8.8
    30 June 2018

    Great stay at an excellent location

    Very convenient central location Hutong building nicely converted into a small boutique-style hotel Very friendly and extremely helpful staff (knowledgeable in English) They will organize tickets, taxis etc for you Clean room and good (quiet) aircon Customized breakfast available
    Alexander
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    19 June 2018
    Good place, very secluded, helpful staff.
    Simon
    au

    Review score

    5.8
    9 June 2018
    Well, it’s a converted Hutong so set your expectations accordingly. The tea shame is that this little place could be so much nicer with just a tiny bit of service and/or imagination by the management.
    Great location.
    Joan
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    17 May 2018

    Excellent location, fun. place to stay in Beijing. I'd stay there again.

    The wi-fi is a bit of a challenge if you don't have a Chinese phone number. We were given a cell phone to use which was very helpful but if you need to download anything (like a boarding pass), it won't work for that.
    Our host was outstanding, giving us excellent advice, was always cheerful, knew his city well. He was very much appreciated especially the morning he went out of his way to give us early (6 AM!) breakfast before we went out to the Great Wall. The breakfasts were outstanding. We had one of the Chinese breakfast choices each day and enjoyed them tremendously. We enjoyed the traditional courtyard hotel atmosphere.
    de

    Review score

    7.1
    16 May 2018
    The room and especially the bathroom were only superficially clean. Unfortunatelly overpriced.
    A very quiet and spacious room.mostly very friendly staff and a nice breakfast althoug there was Not so much to choose from.
    Nicolas
    nl

    Review score

    7.5
    8 May 2018

    Great staff but expensive

    The room was modern but a bit expensive for what it was.
    The staff was very friendly and helpful! Thank you!
    Claire
    cn

    Review score

    10
    2 May 2018

    The perfect place to stay for a discovery week end in BJ. Great charm and location.

    the rooftop terrasse and friendly/helpful staff, location charm
    Wai Yin Christiana
    hk

    Review score

    7.1
    19 March 2018
    Uniquiness and friendly staff
    phillip
    au

    Review score

    5.8
    14 March 2018

    Very disappointed

    After reading the reviews on this hotel I was expecting quite a nice place apart from the fact that our room was nothing like the description when asking the staff about the difference in description no English there was no free bottled water no coffee No internet only in reception no English tv Chanel staff never spoke much English
    Yin-Chi
    tw

    Review score

    7.9
    3 March 2018
    They have problems on the hot water during our stay, and cannot fix it during our 2-days stay.
    The room is comfortable and the staff is helpful.
    aron
    us

    Review score

    10
    6 September 2018
    Tina is the main person who helps with English speaking guests. She was amazing and was to last minute make arrangements for a tour of less traveled wild wall. She also was able to make last minute changes on those last minute plans! So unbelievably friendly, accommodating and extremely competent. I rarely write reviews but I was really impressed by them.
    Andrea
    it

    Review score

    10
    1 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Wen
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    11 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    au

    Review score

    10
    28 April 2018

    Very good

    Non
    Very traditional Beijing hutong style. Room is nice and cozy. Modern bathroom and shower. Friendly staff and good location close to subway (dongsi)
    Alice
    it

    Review score

    7.9
    19 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews